Home > Uncategorized > Back to Linpus on my Acer Aspire One

Back to Linpus on my Acer Aspire One

Well… Windows 7 has had its day, as I move back to Linpus on my AAO.

Why? Well… I wanted to try the next-gen, multimedia, touchscreen, all-singing all-dancing experience on my netbook… but if I’m honest, I don’t really need it. With Win7 installed, there’s precious little space for extra apps… which would be Windows bloatware, usually at additional cost, and with all my media stored on the SSD.

I just want to browse the Web, review/upload photos, maybe with a bit of editing, and do it quickly and simply, without worrying about page files, battery life, write-optimisation, etc. And I had that already with Linpus, along with all the Open Source stuff like GIMP, and I could practice my Linux too.

I might try Ubuntu netbook edition at some point. But I only use the damn thing about once every three months (I have a Dell monster for work), so I’ll take my time.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment