Home > Uncategorized > Fake Xiaomi Power Banks and ‘Licensed manufacturers’

Fake Xiaomi Power Banks and ‘Licensed manufacturers’

I recently received a few Xiaomi power banks I bought on eBay here. Like an idiot, I bought the line about the ‘appearance differing slightly’ because of the manufacturer being ‘Xiaomi licensed’, but not Xiaomi original.

On the listing, they say:

Important notice: this product has two variations: one is originally Xiaomi factory made, and another is made by Xiaomi licensed factory.This listing represents Xiaomi Licensed product.It may look slightly different from the original factory made, and no Series bar but it is 100% legal and authorized by Xiaomi. Please review the license certificate attached.

Yeah, right. It just so happens that the fake described this site perfectly matches the ones I received.

Of course, if the manufacturer was licensed by Xiaomi, they would have given them genuine product verification stickers, so that when I checked the serial number on my scratch-off sticker’s, it would have been the first time anyone had checked it, rather than the 38,764’th.

 

So – I have three dodgy power banks that I bought for around half price. One arrived dead with a broken button, while the other two seem to work (although they may have half the capacity).

I’ve asked for a refund for the broken one. Once I receive that, I’ll threaten negative feedback, raising a paypal dispute, etc. and hopefully get a full refund. And then post the feedback anyway.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 20, 2016 at 3:02 pm

    I feel sad for you mate. I hope you’ll be able to get a refund on the ground that the factory is not Xiaomi authorized. Xiaomi as a manufacturer would never want these cheap products to be sold which directly impact their brand image.
    I was able to return one easily, but for that the seller never mentioned that it is not original.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

