Home > Uncategorized > Picturelife Update

Picturelife Update

Picturelife is looking slightly heathier, but don’t trust it just yet.

It seems that I can now browse my photos on the mobile and web apps, and the photos actually pop up pretty quickly – they seem to have more funding for the EC2 instances to run the servers. Place browsing and timeline also work as they used to.

However… there’s plenty still broken, principally the most important parts – upload and download!

  • For upload, my iOS app will not even attempt to upload any photos (in the previous death throes, it did upload them but then showed a ‘cloud X’ icon implying the upload was rejected for some reason).
  • For download – you still can’t, at least not in bulk. I tried adding another album to my zip-to-download queue, and it just joined the other 15 months’ worth of photos showing the ‘creating zip…’ text

Also, search is still broken, which can make it tough finding a photo.

 

Again, a huge shame. I’ve just now subscribed to Dropbox, because Mylio was letting me down in a few areas. Mylio’s peer to peer protocol seems fantastic, but misses on a few key functionalities that you want in a photo app including:

  • Wanting to find and stream a video to your phone to show someone: Dropbox can do this, as could Picturelife of course
  • Wanting to edit and replace photos – such as creating montages, or splicing videos, then uploading the replacement. Mylio is limited to non-destructive whole-of-photo edits which are stored in the XMP sidecar file
  • Failing the ‘business-as-usual’ test; my wife hasn’t opened Mylio since last time I tried to tease her into using it by showing her old baby photos. And when I did, it had a queue of 150 photos with all sorts of P2P syncs that hadn’t completed by the time she closed the app again. Wishful thinking, but she’s just never going to use it to sort photos – at least Dropbox has location-based triggers that will, eventually, upload her photos even if she takes no action herself.
  • Failing the ‘photo clearout’ test. I wanted to wipe my camera roll once all had been uploaded, but I didn’t quite have the confidence with Mylio, despite this being its purpose. I asked “if I delete all my camera roll, even with the entire contents protected on my NAS, will it then detect the deleted photos, wipe them in Mylio’s app on my iPhone, and it also instruct my NAS to delete the photos?”. I just wasn’t sure…
  • No social aspect – no ability to send a folder or link to friends

I do like all the photo organisation options Mylio has such as person tagging and star rating, but it just isn’t working in practice, and I end up spending far longer trying to organise on my phone rather than just a big batch job I would otherwise do on my far more capable PC. Also, XMP files are great… until you remember that only a few semipro photo apps support them, and most apps you use to show those photos in the future – your TV browser, Apple TV, random iOS app – will likely ignore them.

 

So – I’ll give Dropbox a go. It doesn’t support photo tag editing, etc, but I can do that in Picasa and then it’ll sync to my devices… (right??).

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 20, 2016 at 2:16 am

    How did you manage to download the photos from PictureLife? I tried everything (the “zip”, in web, in app..), I’m thinking that my pictures were gone…

    • damo
      July 20, 2016 at 2:18 am

      I always stored them in my own AWS S3 bucket, so I hold all the photos – just that they’re very disorganised because they are stored without all the picture life data

  2. July 20, 2016 at 2:19 am

    How did you manage to download the photos from PictureLife? I tried everything (the “zip”, web, app…), I’m thinking that my pictures were gone …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

