Home > Uncategorized > Can’t use Burner numbers with Yahoo registration

Can’t use Burner numbers with Yahoo registration

So, I thought I’d try Flickr as a photo hosting site, as a trial run. Since I want to make a little effort to retain privacy through obscurity (<g>), I tried creating a new account with no links to my own ID. But Yahoo require a valid phone number.

No problem, I thought – I’ll use the Burner app to create a temporary phone number to receive the verification code.

No dice. Yahoo reject VOIP numbers from apps like Burner. I’ll have to use a valid mobile – although I do have a UK one that I bought in a vending machine with no ID, and topped up with another credit card.

I’m sure government services could easily make the link, but that’s not what I’m trying to do – I’m just trying to make things a little harder for advertising and identity trading services should Yahoo sell out to someone who then try to mine my photos for information and link it back to my identity.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

