Home > Uncategorized > Sugarsync Using Space for no apparent reason

Sugarsync Using Space for no apparent reason

 

I, like many (as evidenced by some posts), have seen Sugarsync showing mystery space usage, with no apparent files to consume that space.

I’m currently paying for the 30GB plan, have been careful about space usage, and yet found myself 5GB over the limit.

I decided to do a quick audit – so I checked:

  • Unshared most folders with defunct shares
  • Emptied the Magic Briefcase
  • Permanently deleted all deleted files
  • Made sure there were no detached folders

I then checked the space usage of the various synced files:

 

 

OK – so 15GB in total. Why was it using 39GB? (30GB + referral bonuses plus leeway)

 

So – I then created new folders, and moved EVERYTHING out of the synced folders. A couple of folders still showed files in Sugarsync, even though I had deleted them on my (and every) PC. So I then re-ran the audit (permanently deleting files, etc).

 

 

All Gone! And yet… Apparently still 28GB is in use!

 

I checked and checked again, and everything is completely empty. Even the web interface shows no files.

 

The Solution

However… eventually, I did manage to free all that space.

So where was it hiding?

Well, I had shared a large (read 30GB) photo folder with a friend in the past; I had since cleaned it out a few times, but it seemed that Sugarsync thought they had deleted it, and hence when I viewed that shared folder as myself, it told me that there were deleted items. When I showed the deleted items, it listed the whole 30GB of photos that had been deleted previously, and then moved.

Now – in Sugarsync, as the folder owner, there’s nothing you can do about that. As Sugarsync state, you have to:

  • Get the person you’re sharing the folder with, to restore all the files in their Sugarsync (you have to select restore – you can’t just delete them)
  • Then delete the files from their/your sugarsync, and permanently delete them

As it turned out, when it tried to restore them, it failed massively and the vast bulk of files just disappeared anyway. But it did free up the space nonetheless!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

