Home > Uncategorized > Sugarsync loses data when syncing photos

Sugarsync loses data when syncing photos

December 15, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

OK – the jury’s out on Sugarsync.

The last few weeks, my wife and I have been taking loads of photos on our iPhones. Now – we could use Apple Photostream, but I want to be able to process my photos… as in, take them, enhance them, file them, and dump them on my PC for sharing and eventual storage – removing them from my ‘inbox’ once they’re safely filed away. Apple are OK for the first two, but organizing in folders? Removing them from you camera roll? Why would you want do that?! (Um, for a start, so I don’t have 10,000 photos in a single folder?)

So – we’ve always used Sugarsync – because only one of us needs to pay for 30GB of data, and then we can both upload photos to that; with Dropbox, in order to share a folder, you both have have that space available (eg. 30GB0 individually. Rip off. In an effort to find an offline photo-management and syncing tool on my iPhone/iPad, I ended up using… not Photobox.. Not Photo Manager Pro… but Goodreader. Because it can sync files to cloud storage. And none of those photo manager apps can.

But – one big disadvantage with Sugarsync, appears to be with their API for photo transfers.

Both these photos have been taken with an iPhone, and then synced through the native Sugarsync / Dropbox app. Take a look at the photo properties (via Picasa on my PC):

 

Sugarsync

 

Dropbox

Etc. etc.. the Dropbox info ran off the bottom of the page.

 

OK, they’re different photos… but see the difference? Dropbox retains all the EXIF data, including tags, GPS coordinates, etc. Sugarsync loses them.

Now – that might not be so tragic – the photo itself is there. But if I DO ever find a really cool photo slideshow app, that shows location, can filter by tags, etc. etc – then any files I transferred with Sugarsync, will be unusable with these.

Now – this does not apply for photos that are synced via Sugarsync on PC. But it does seem to apply for photos synced by the Sugarsync app, and photos synced by Goodreader – which makes me wonder whether the EXIF data is lost when iOS sends the photo to the Sugarsync/Goodreader iPhone app, or whether it’s when the app syncs with Sugarsync. I did a test which implied that Goodreader retains the data, and so the EXIF loss appears to be when syncing with Sugarsync. Either way – whatever the cause, the fact is, Dropbox works for me, and Sugarsync doesn’t.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. RJC
    December 16, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    Saw your link from the SugarSync forum. My SS subscription
    renews in early January and after seeing the downgrade with Beta 2,
    I suspect I won’t be renewing my subscription. The photo viewer has
    changed for the worse, not that it was very good to begin with.
    Your comments about the EFIX data loss makes sense. I lost a large
    number of EXIF tags, particularly date and GPS related, and
    couldn’t figure out how or why they had disappeared. After seeing
    your post, I’m wondering if these tags could have disappeared when
    I changed computers and used SugarSync to restore my files from the
    cloud. I wouldn’t think it should cause the original files to lose
    the tags, but anything is possible. On another note, have you
    looked at the file viewer on the SkyDrive revision? This is one
    area Microsoft did well with the posting of a small Bing map from
    GPS coordinates and displaying tags and comments. No way to sort
    from these unless you have the folder synced to your native drive;
    however, I recently received an update to the SkyDrive application
    that finally enables one to select the files we want to sync with
    our PC, eliminating the all-or-nothing issue. In fact, I changed
    the default location of my Pictures folder to point directly to the
    SkyDrive directory and it behaves nicely on my computer. That said,
    I can’t answer your question about the behavior of the iPhone
    SkyDrive app and whether it posts all the EXIF data to the cloud or
    not. It would be worth experimenting with it to make a positive
    determination, testing both the full file and compressed file
    upload options on the app. I’ve lost many of my date tags on my
    pictures due to cloud manipulation and am thankful I used the date
    as part of the file name or else this information would be gone
    forever.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

