Home > Uncategorized > Overplay.net Review… I give up

Overplay.net Review… I give up

This is a review I posted on a VPN review forum. I’ve been battling with Overplay to try and get some live, UK-orientated Olympics coverage (rather than put up with the locally orientated coverage), but after some experimentation, I concluded that the problem WAS with Overplay, not my ISP or the distance in general, and gave up on them.

After I tried Overplay support, they contacted me immediately – their support was immediate and very detailed; can’t fault them for that. They directed me to their SmartDNS service, that I understand re-routes selected traffic via a UK PoP, which is basically less load for them than a full encrypted VPN, but also should be faster.

 

The difference was remarkable – less congested, and faster. I was now able to watch some iPlayer at reasonable speeds, sometimes. TVCatchup was, as always, savvy, and rejected me.

 

I then tried Expatshield; I hate their native app and ads, so I ran it on a VM rather than have its nasty stuff all over my laptop. Expatshield worked faster and better than Overplay. So, still not great. TVCatchup still rejected.

 

Finally… I sent a plea out to friends on Facebook. One of them offered a VPN login to their home router and broadband connection, so I could log in via their home network on both my laptop and iPad via PPTP.

 

 

Suddenly…. everything worked. Streaming video was clunky, but continuous and worked. TVCatchup, of course, couldn’t tell the difference, and had no complaints at all. Right now, I’m watching the Olympics Eventing on my iPad.

 

Moral of the story? Friends will always help you more than almost any paid service, if you can impose. And Overplay have some cool services and support…. great features. They just don’t have enough capacity to work worth a damn.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Daniel Burr
    July 25, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    The DNS option is better than using a VPN regarding content streaming because you can achieve direct connection with the media station ex. Netflix and avoid the “middle-man”. Personally, I am using UnoTelly which is similar to Overplay . Perhaps you should check UnoTelly as well if you haven’t done so.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

