Home > Computing > Sugarsync +1, Dropbox -1 – Sugarsync Rocks, again

Sugarsync +1, Dropbox -1 – Sugarsync Rocks, again

I was just chatting to a mate this evening, and wanted to share a few photos from yesterday’s flying with him.

Now, I finally paid out for a 50GB Sugarsync account – not for me, but for my wife. I decided Sugarsync was the best way to collaborate on, and backup, our photos for the moment, so whenever we take some new ones, we put them in a folder shared from her account. Unlike Dropbox, it doesn’t count against both of our storage allocations, so only one of us need the extra space – and I put it against her account.

However – while most Cloud file systems allow sharing a directory, I didn’t realise Sugarsync allows you to share individual files. Not file, but fileS. And not ‘Send to email’, but share. I Ctrl-clicked a few photos from the batch to show my friend, right-clicked, Share with Sugarsync, and it opens a web browser with the list of photos to share, where I can put his email address. Click. Done!

Compare this to Dropbox where:

  • You have to nominate a root Dropbox folder
  • You can only share directories
  • You can’t selectively share files within those

One point to Sugarsync.

 

However – those restrictions are not why Dropbox stores ‘-1’. No – the reason for that, is the complete inability to create folders in the mobile (iOS) app….

I’d just been playing with Notability on the iPad, and saw that, like everything, it can sync a folder with Dropbox. Cool! OK. I’ll enter my Dropbox details, select a folder to sync my Notability notes to.. OK, I don’t have a suitable one – I’ll create a new one.

Ah.. I can’t in the Notability-Dropbox UI. OK – I’ll open the Dropbox app, and do it there…

No… not there either… Hmmmm….

 

Nope. Not anywhere. No way. You’ll have to go back to your PC for that, mate. Or the web UI.

 

It never fails to frustrate me how Dropbox restrict their service. Yet, they got in there with their API, and they’re the de-facto standard for app cloud sync. They’re not going away. And yes, they do have some awesome technology and robustness in syncing, hash comparison and partial sharing, deduplication, etc. that the other services just can’t match; I assume they have the patents pending for those. But while I’ll use my free Dropbox account for all my syncing apps, I’ll continue using my slightly ropey, but always flexible, Sugarsync account for my work.

 

Categories: Computing Tags: , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

