Home > Microlights > OzRunways – latest version

OzRunways – latest version

Below is actually the App Store review I left for OzRunways.

It’s actually a little scathing – particularly in contrast to the other glowing reviews – and I feel a little guilty for that.

But also justified. Every time I bring up a separate overlay for Wx, or wait for 5-10s before my plan comes up, I feel it’s not quite there yet.

However – don’t get me wrong…. The alternative is thousands, maybe tens if thousands, of dollars… Or kilos of paper documents and ten times the planning time. OzRunways is revolutionary. I just have high expectations!

I bought OzRunways a few months ago, and have another 6 months of my annual subscription. In the last 6 months, it’s introduced Route planning and some other improvements.

I have a vision of the perfect EFB. Everything seamlessly integrated into one efficient display. And getting close to that vision is…. AvPlan!

In contrast, OzRunways is a little clunky. For example – bringing up weather radar brings up a different small screen, not overlaying it on the chart – as AvPlan does. Route plans are displayed instead the chart, not alongside it – as AvPlan can. And both tools have the almost-useless scratchpad – what’s with that? What about solid ink and text entry, and pagination, so I can write useful notes, guys?

However – both times I’ve used AvPlan in flight, it crashed or had bugs. OzRunways hasn’t. That’s why I use it.

Having said that… OzRunways is suddenlt very slow to respond on my iPad 2 with the current update – sometimes 10-15s before a drag or plan-button press response. It’s bordering on distracting, and hopefully they’ll fix that soon.

Having not used EFBs, as a new pilot, I suspect OzRunways is true to legacy systems and so familiar to many in its methods. AvPlan is more innovative and “Apple-like”, but unreliable. It’ll be interesting to see how the two converge, and which pulls ahead.

Categories: Microlights
  1. Catherine
    October 18, 2012 at 11:09 am

    AvPlan is solid as a rock since version 2. Has really pulled ahead of Ozrunways

    • damo
      October 18, 2012 at 11:25 am

      I’m going to give AvPlan a more extensive trial soon – my OzRunways first year has expired, so I’m going to make use of the monthly plan on AvPlan to try it out without risking full commitment.

      However – I did try it out for the first time in months last week, and updated the maps. Maybe I was downloading too many at once, but it ground to a halt and needed a kill/reload. It’s this kind of more obscure glitches that I’ve found have plagued AvPlan in the past….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

