Home > Random > EU Claim Review – our experiences

EU Claim Review – our experiences

I have finally ticked off the “Chase EUClaim” item that I had on my ToDo list for around a year now, having checked on the status of my claim every few months, until finally giving up.

We originally filed a claim with EUClaim in October 2010, after having a terribly delayed journey with Easyjet, due to computer failures on their part. Full of fury, we looked at whatever method we could find to get back at them – as you do, at the end of a ‘journey from hell’. EU legislation beckoned, and by all rights, we were entitled to compensation; it also seemed an open and shut case. We googled for the best way to do this, and filed with EUClaim.

It seems a great idea: no hassle, everything is done online, including filing your flight details and uploading supporting documents. Sure, they take a significant portion, but it’s no win, no fee, and I’m as interested in penalising Easyjet as getting some money back. And they get efficiencies from all the data being submitted online, and probably even get cost efficiencies from filing in bulk, if multiple people claim from the same flight. Job done, I thought!

After a week, a notice in my messages showed EUClaim sent a letter to Easyjet. After another few weeks, a second letter threatening court. Then in Nov 2010, they issued a summons, and sent me a message saying they were filing a complaint with a regulator, which would take 6 months. In Jan 11, they asked me for a letter of authority, which I think I sent. Another reminder in June 2011. Then I chased in Feb 2012 (again by the portal) for a response. I got a reply a week later saying that they were being selective about test cases, and there would be a ‘slight’ delay about processing to conclusion, and to check for regular updates.

Nothing new as of mid-March 2011, so now I’ve basically stopped checking.

I’m sure EUClaim’s business practices are sound, but I wonder, will I ever see the money? If Easyjet finally pay up, and I’ve moved house, country, perhaps even died, and am uncontactable, what happens to that money? Who keeps it? I don’t remember what I signed, what was agreed, and most people will forget they even submitted after a few months. There’s a lot of money involved; what happens to it?

Categories: Random
  1. Anonymous
    May 14, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    I have had the same experience with euclaim, my claim was submitted August 2009. Now they are stating no claims are being reviwed due to EC Regulation 261/2004 and they are awaiting an update from the EU courts. I am not impressed at all!

  2. August 16, 2012 at 7:02 am

    What was the routing of the easyjet flight upon which had the delayed journey?

  3. C N
    October 30, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    having the same problem..probably was the same easyjet flight from las palmas…still waiting and waiting and no repsonse since 2011…

  4. Angelo
    November 28, 2012 at 5:40 am

    They dropped my claim after a year. I wonder if they are getting paid then not paying us?

  5. Neil
    January 29, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    I handed over my case to Euclaim in 2008, and still waiting for them to deal with it. They stopped updating me for a few years! A week ago, they sent me an email, addressed to Sir/Madam, instead of my name, and asking me to submit documents that they should already have! When I said I’m not going to email sensitive documents unless they address me by my name, they then wrote back, and misspelled my name with a couple of errors! I doubt if they would be able to get anything from the airline, as they don’t appear to be very organized, or pay any attention to detail.

    • damo
      January 30, 2013 at 12:13 am

      Ok – let’s put it another way. Comment here if you’ve SUCCESSFULLY filed a claim through EUClaim. Or feel free to link through to any forums/websites where you’ve seen testimony by those who have.

      • damo
        March 20, 2013 at 4:26 pm

        Just an update on this.

        EUClaim have notified that they’re pursuing the claim via another solicitor, Bott & Co. Today, I received this email:

        “Information regarding our requirements to proceed with this claim will be sent to you shortly. Please would you respond to those requests urgently so we may continue on your behalf. We will make initial contact with the airline shortly but cannot proceed beyond this point without your further assistance. We can confirm that Bott and Co work under a “no win-no fee” agreement and there will be no additional charges beyond those applied by EUclaim.”

        So – it seems things are moving again. We’ll see what the airlines will do this time.

    • January 30, 2013 at 11:17 am

      Dear Neil, we will contact you by e-mail to set things right! Our apologies for the confusion and misspelled name.

  6. January 30, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Dear all,
    We are well aware of the patience we are asking of our customers. Unfortunately the road to financial compensation is long as airlines still refuse to pay the compensation passengers are entitled to. However, Courts in the UK decided not to handle any cases for flight delays until the European Court of Justice clarified the law. This was finally done in October 2012. We are currently preparing to bring many cases to Court with our solicitors in the UK. If you have any questions regaring your individual claims we are happy to answer them!

    • damo
      January 30, 2013 at 11:21 am

      Thanks for clarifying that, EUClaim. Will you be able to give individual update if claimants contact you either by email or through the case management portal?

  7. January 30, 2013 at 11:37 am

    Both are fine. Whichever you prefer! You can ask for Lotte in your e-mail so the messages will be directed to me, and I will personally respond to your e-mail(s) as soon as possible.

  8. August 30, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    This exact thing had happened to me too. In fact they waited so long the statute of limitations went past and they never informed me. Looks like they forgot and secretly send me a communication online. They didn’t send an email, they just put a notice in the online system and were done with it. I filed my original claim in late 2008 and they closed the case in early 2013. I just found out and I am livid. I wasn’t sure that I could win the case, but I didn’t ever believe that they would drop the case and have such an unprofessional manner.

  9. damo
    October 30, 2013 at 1:24 pm

    Well, we finally received our payment! Read about it here:
    https://spekxvision.wordpress.com/2013/10/30/euclaim-bott-co-pays-out/

  10. steve
    February 19, 2014 at 7:41 am

    my Monarch flight delay was in September 2013 i passed it over to EU Claims at the end of September as i knew it would be pointless trying to do it myself, 2 weeks were lost as EU Claims are in Europe and they passed it over to Bott @ Co Solicitors in England. They emailed me about 20 times throughout for signatures and updates and finally my bank details and i received £460 in January after they had took there share. The claim is per person and is a set amount, and i actually got back more than the flights cost. The problems seem to be with old claims. I would definately reccomend EU Claims and Bott@co

  11. Neil
    February 19, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    I should point out, after I gave up with EU Claim early last year, I followed the advice on the MoneySavingExpert advice, and managed to retrieve the money that was owed to me in no time at all. I managed to do in a month that EU Claim failed to do in a few years. And I got to keep all the compensation. The idea of EU Claim is great in principle, but it was of absolutely no help to me.

  12. Diana
    November 1, 2015 at 10:02 am

    having read the comments on this forum I went to MoneysavingExpert and completed my claim via their site. REALLY simple to do, so I would advise anyone else to do the same. Why pay another company to do what you can do for free? Thank you all 🙂

    • Neil
      November 1, 2015 at 10:13 am

      I agree Diana. The only reason I can think of paying a company to do it on your behalf is if they made your life easier. But Euclaim is completely incompetent.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

