Home > Computing > Anyone seen any ultimate hierarchical information organisers around here

Anyone seen any ultimate hierarchical information organisers around here

November 22, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Occasionally, when I get some breathing space, I scout around to see whether anyone’s written the nirvana of information organisers that I’ve been looking for, for a few years now. My current stop-gap solution is Treepad, as I mentioned here.

However, what I really need is:

  • Hierarchical structure!
  • RTF/HTML text/images/etc
  • Seamless cloud sync
  • Offline PC / Web / iPhone clients
  • All my information, where I can find it, when I need it, in a manageable form.
  • Ideally, selective sharing/collaborating of branches
  • Today’s wish item: org chart support!

No-one has yet managed it. Treepad does OK, but has no mobile clients or cloud sync. Google Docs, Evernote, and a thousand other note tools, do it all.. except Hierarchies. No people, Hierarchies are not dead. Just because most people can’t organise their information worth a damn and just want to Hadoop-search everything, doesn’t mean I can’t organise myself as much as possible.

Mediawikis are very close, if you create your own hierarchy, but a pain to manage.

So… folks, seen any perfect info tools around these parts?

 

Categories: Computing
  1. damo
    November 22, 2011 at 1:45 am

    It seems PersonalBrain (www.thebrain.com) could be a contender. But wait!… No.. No iOS apps!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

