Home > Uncategorized > Mac Mini HTPC Mark 2 – Airplay via Airserver, and Logitech iTouch Mouse

Mac Mini HTPC Mark 2 – Airplay via Airserver, and Logitech iTouch Mouse

Having moved house, and finding ourselves without the LG Internet-enabled TV in our old place, we reverted back to theMac Mini for home entertainment. This is my old Core2Duo Mac Mini, upgraded to it’s max of 2GB RAM and Snow Leopard.

It’s really pushing it in terms of age now; it won’t support more than 2GB, will not support Lion, and since it’s running 32bit OS, I annoying found that the new Boxee Media Manager app won’t run on it either. And that IS annoying, as it would be a great way to play media, especially our video library; the alternative is to run a uPNP server, and a uPNP app on the iDevices.

Anyway – since Airserver seemed to be quite cleanly marketed, I thought I’d fork out the $4.99 to install it. It did, without a hitch. Then I thought I’d try Airplaying some things through it.

  • Photo – worked fine, showing photos – although from my 3GS, some photos were inverted (turns out this is a known bug in the 3GS).
  • ABC iView – again, took around 30 seconds to buffer, but then played OK and fullscreen
  • Spotify – took some co-ercing to get the Airplay icon to appear, but once it did, it worked – including if in standby
  • IMDB app – again, this worked
So – basically, it could make quite a difference; playing Spotify centrally is very handy (pending an actual Boxee app for Spotify!).
Also – since I’ve recently upgraded from Tiger to Snow Leopard, I could revisit Logitech iTouch Remote, which is a handy, responsive, unobtrusive and free way of using your iDevice as a keyboard/mouse – which is handy on my Mac for if a notification dialogue comes up, and I don’t want to have to plug in a mouse or open VNC just to close it.
I installed the server… and it works beautifully. Added to my startup apps, and now I have easy iDevice control of my HTPC if needed.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

