Home > Uncategorized > iPhone 3GS with GPS, WiFi and Bluetooth not working

iPhone 3GS with GPS, WiFi and Bluetooth not working

Yep, not just one – all three!
My iPhone is now over 2 years old, and so most likely by Apple’s reckoning, well on its way out. I found recently (while running 4.1 Jailbreak for several months) that it lost GPS, WiFi, and Bluetooth performance.
GPS was completely gone – I just got the nearest 2G/3G mast as a location. WiFi and Bluetooth work, but only at very close range – less than 8m in line-of-sight. For Bluetooth, I actually have to hold it next to my headset for it to hold a signal.
So… I’ve had problems before, with my GPS, and a firmware restore in DFU mode *seemed* to fix it. Time to try again.
But first… I tried a few other fixes out there. I tried ‘the freezer trick‘ – 10 minutes in a freezer in a couple of ziplock bags with all the air expelled. It worked! The WiFi signal was full when it came out, then dropped within 20s as the contacts warmed up again. Hence – looks like a physical fault on the antenna solder contacts, the fix for which is either a repair shop, or baking it in the oven.
As for the GPS; I tried a couple of tricks: resetting Network Settings, for one; turning off 3G, opening maps and placing the pin on the map, then turning 3G on again. Didn’t work. I also tried installing the BT stack for GPS, but that also did nothing.
So.. with no other option, I downloaded firmware 4.2.1 and installed it in DFU mode. Before I jailbroke it with Greenpois0n, I tried the WiFi and GPS again, as a brand-new firmware phone. Depressingly, still nothing. I suspect this means the hardware is gone after all.
So – now to install Cydia, and then try to restore my phone from backup. This might re-introduce any glitches or issues from the previous jailbreak, but since none of the GPS/Wifi/Bluetooth issues have been fixed by the vanilla firmware refresh, it seems it won’t impact anything anyway.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

