Home > Uncategorized > Windows 7 laptop making phantom device insert/remove sounds

Windows 7 laptop making phantom device insert/remove sounds

February 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Something strange is happening to my laptop.

Every minute or so, I get the ‘duh-DUH’ two-tone sound of a device being unplugged. Then the same again, 3 seconds later (ie. unplugged – not inserted – BOTH times). Just before it, my machine/pointer freezes for a split second.

It could be a hardware/software issue, so, for the record:

Hardware: HP Elitebook 8440p, 8GB RAM, MS mouse in the USB and that’s it
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

I have had some issues with a USB modem recently – Vodafone E505(?) by Huawei, which royally messed up my USB drivers: if I plug it in, then any USB device inserted afterwards isn’t detected. However, I think I may have had this problem before this… just that it’s becoming more frequent.

Nothing in any event logs, as far as I can see; annoying; I’d have thought device insert/unplug would be an obvious candidate for logging.

I’ve also just noticed that sometimes the sound doesn’t occur for almost 5 minutes.. and sometimes there’s only one, rather than a pair in sequence.

Double-weird.

 

 

Edit:

It seems it was my mouse. I have a basic MS Optical Mouse, that I admittedly bash around a bit. I unplugged this, and, an hour later, not a peep from my laptop.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Darrick Lin
    May 15, 2011 at 7:39 am

    I have the exact same problem, but I’ve never used a mouse or had problems with the USB plug-ins. I don’t know how to stop it, but it getting annoying. Happens every minute or two.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

