Home > iphone > iPhone Slow Data Roaming and GPS problems

iPhone Slow Data Roaming and GPS problems

This is an interesting problem that is stymying me:

I have a 3GS 16GB, originally with 4.0.1 with jailbreakme, and now conpletely rebuilt with DFU mode restore and no backup restored, to 4.1, with limera1n. But despite this restore, I still have the same problem.

The problem is that when roaming abroad, my data rates drop down to dog-slow speeds. Like “10 minutes to load a Google map screen” slow. It’s probably single-timeslot 2G GSM connection.

However – I come back into the UK, and get 3G speeds on my carrier O2.

Just in case someone thinks it’s just the roaming carrier is slow: I roamed all the way through Italy, Switzerland, France, and Belgium, across a few weeks, with tens of hard resets to try and fix it. 2G and 3G signals shown. 3G was not switched off. O2 said there were no problems on the network.

I didn’t notice anything strange at the time this started (eg. Didn’t drop it!). There was one other problem that started around the same time – my GPS started locking up. It seemed to work fine, except the spot didn’t move with me – it stayed at the same location all the time since I opened Maps. After restarting the app a few times, it might stay where it was, or it might wake up and move to the correct location. Or go somewhere completely wrong (with a solid fix – not cell-tower location!)

As I say: weird! I did the DFU restore to try and start from scratch, but it hasn’t fixed it. I’d be interested to know if anyone else has seen this.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

