Home > Uncategorized > Bluetooth Dongles for Stereo Headphones

Bluetooth Dongles for Stereo Headphones

Something I’ve been meaning to do for a while, is to set up my Home Media Centre with a bluetooth dongle – the idea being that I can watch movies using my Bluetooth Headphones while in the room, and not disturb anyone else.

Well, I found the impossibly small Pico at Mobilefun for £8.95; I accidentally bought two, so I’ll try the other in my Acer Aspire One running Ubuntu. The first one has gone into my Win7 Pro 64-bit HTPC.
I plugged it in, and sure enough, it installed using default drivers so quickly that it took a while to notice the new Bluetooth System Tray icon pop up. It gave me options to send/receive files, etc.

However, pairing with my stereo headphones gave just a headset icon with a failed install for no drivers. After a few attempts, and asking it to automatically download drivers (none found), I uninstalled, and ran the CD installer instead.

Once I’d run the main installer in the root directory (not in the x86 subdir in my case, which failed near the end of the install) it installed BlueSoleil successfully. It’s an app that caters to the beginner, and less responsive than the default drivers, but once paired and set up, it seemed to connect to my headset fine. In use, there is a slight delay in the audio through my headset, which is slightly distracting in films. Not ideal, but I guess I can live with it.

So – if you only need the basic functions and default drivers/networking, it works like a dream. If you want stuff that needs the Bluesoleil install, like Bluetooth audio, then it still seems to setup very well, and works OK – probably better than the cheaper similar dongles on other sites – but is a bit rough around the edges.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

