Home > Random > DeLonghi EC330S Coffee Machine

DeLonghi EC330S Coffee Machine

December 29, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Having just bought my DeLonghi EC330S, I thought I’d write a “First Impressions” review.

Firstly, it is initially noisy, but it quietens down at the same time as you get used to it. The first few seconds of running cause vibration and doesn’t sound great at all, but this is probably because the pump is running on air, and it quietens to reasonable levels once water is through the system.

As for a plasticy taste – the reservoir certainly smells of plastic initially, and I washed in soapy water (as recommended) 5-6 times before the smell had just about gone. I also ran the system through 10 times before making a cup of actual coffee, and when I did finally make it, it didn’t taste plasticy, at least.

Also note that this isn’t an “instant” machine to use. From turning on, you have to wait for the OK light to come on – I timed this as 65 seconds. You are then advised to run it WITHOUT coffee twice to warm up all the parts, and cup, waiting for the OK light to return each time (this only takes 30 secs each time). Hence, it’s maybe 3-4 minutes to get your first cup of coffee out after power-up. Successive cups take 30-45 seconds.

The cappuccino frother I tried quickly and unscientifically with some skimmed milk and a mug… and it worked beautifully. A small amount of milk transformed to froth in 15 seconds.

And my first espresso, with the supplied Illy ESE pods? Well… Not great! No crema, and not intensely strong. I’ll have to try a few times to get a better opinion, I guess.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

