Home > Uncategorized > Windows 7 on Gigabyte GA-G33M-S2H – not there yet

Windows 7 on Gigabyte GA-G33M-S2H – not there yet

OK, so I got Win7 up and running on my Gigabyte board, by installing from within WinXP. It seems the issue is the same boot issue as I had with Ubuntu and XP before this, rather than Win7 specifically.

So – I’m there, right?

Well – not really. Because that test install was using Win7-x86 (32-bit). And when I tried the same trick with 64-bit… you’ve guessed it… the setup program wouldn’t run from within WinXP, as it’s 32-bit.

So… now I need to figure out a way to install the 64-bit version… since I still can’t boot from CD or USB…..

Two possible methods:
1. Network PXI boot?
2. Install it inside a 64-bit VM, but to the physical partition… then boot natively from that partition. (Messy with the drivers!)
3. Run the initial installer (ie. copy over files, setup boot) using the VM – but then run the rest of the install natively, after the first reboot.

Whatever I do, it’s going to be messy…

  1. brad
    October 30, 2009 at 5:23 am

    Thanks for throwing these posts on your blog… I’ve started the same journey with the same motherboard and am stumbling on the same problems! I don’t remember having these issues with Vista, but all my symptoms are the same as yours.

    Some thoughts that I’ll be trying out:
    – My 2 Hard Drives are on the first 2 SATA ports. The other 2 ports are empty
    – My DVD drive is the master (and only device) on the IDE bus.

    I’m wondering if there’s some strange SATA/IDE issues going on. Nothing in the BIOS leaps out at me, and I’ve looked through the advanced BIOS settings too (ctrl-f1).

    Upgraded the BIOS to the current version–no joy.

    ACHI disabled (even though I’m using SATA drives).

    I need to solve this problem too to move from Vista 32bit to Win7 64bit….

    sigh…

    brad

    • damo
      October 31, 2009 at 8:33 am

      So I guess it could be a motherboard thing, or maybe mobo-optical drive incompatibility. Take a look at my next post – I’ve tried a few options, but no joy yet!

    • damo
      November 1, 2009 at 11:29 pm

      OK, I got it working- check my latest post. I used Win Server 2003 64-bit because I have a licence, but if you can grab any 64-bit older OS, such as XP, it should work. No need to activate – you only need it running long enough to run the Win7 installer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

