Home > iphone > Mophie Juice Pack Air still has problems

Mophie Juice Pack Air still has problems

September 29, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well, although the Apple store refused to replace the Mophie JPA that I bought in their store, Mophie themselves were more responsive. They didn’t actually reply to my customer support mail, but 3 working days after I sent it, I got an email from UPS saying a new JPA had been shipped.. from Illinois, USA! I received it a few days later.

A little suspicious that they replaced it unquestioningly – makes me wonder if it’s a common fault. I was also annoyed to see that they’ve changed the cap design slightly – it makes it easier to remove, but the two spare caps I bought for £15 now won’t fit.

As for the JPA? Yep, it’s charging my iPhone fine now. BUT – it’s still showing strange behaviour. Now I get the following combinations:

– Using the supplied Mophie microUSB cable with my laptop, will charge the JPA, but not the iPhone. Windows says “unknown device”.
– Using the Mophie cable with my Apple mains USB charger, also charges the JPA, but not the iPhone
– Using a microUSB cable bought off eBay, DOES charge both iPhone and JPA.

This is in contrast to my last JPA, which was more or less the other way around. To coin a phrase.. WTF?!?

I’ll do some more testing to see if perhaps the cable’s faulty. Anyway, my retracting USB cable charges both, which is good for now.

Categories: iphone Tags:
  1. Bill
    January 18, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    I just received a replacement cap from Mophie and it is too loose. They are sending a replacement but I have my doubts if it will fit. Time will tell.

    As for the cable, I lost mine somehow but in the US they sell these type cables at Office Depot and probably Best Buy. The one from Office Depot works fine.

    • damo
      January 18, 2010 at 11:04 pm

      The new caps and cases are looser than the old ones. If yours is too loose, you may have the old-style case (more than 4-5 months old now). Ask them about this. The cable is very standard – USB to microUSB.

  2. Bill
    January 22, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    They sent me back 2 caps and they both fit. No worries.

  3. August 17, 2010 at 9:06 am

    Well i’ve never used Mophie, but Apocket works great with me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

