Home > Computing > Spykee Control working through Checkpoint SecureRemote Firewall

Spykee Control working through Checkpoint SecureRemote Firewall

Finally – I can control my Spykee from my work laptop!

Network Settings

For anyone who hasn’t already guessed, Spykee is a hash of poorly-written software that needs some tweaking to get working.

And, after two weeks (admittedly not spend solidly on the problem), I found that the problem was, as expected, my Checkpoint SecureRemote client.

To fix the problem:

Network Settings
  • Disconnect from your VPN
  • Stop the SecureRemote Client in the taskbar
  • Go into Network Properties for whichever interface you’re using for LAN/WAN, hit Properties, Networking, and then untick Check Point SecurRemote.

Yep – you actually have to completely unbind the firewall from your network adapter to get it working! Jeez!

While I’m on the subject, I tried remotely controlling the Spykee from Paris to London. Peformance… isn’t too bad. I am tapping the keys a step at a time, and often it’ll do a complete 180 when I press ‘left’ for a single tap, but it’s.. well.. navigable enough. As I say – not great, but just about worth the discounted £100 I paid at Amazon.

Categories: Computing
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

