Home > Computing, Mobile > MyMotion – GPS Tracking in Action

MyMotion – GPS Tracking in Action

Well, I put MyMotion through a decent workout on Sunday – tracking my team’s position along a 60 mile bike ride from London to Cambridge. And as you can see, it did pretty well.

Where have you been?!?

Where have you been?!?

I chose to export the routes to KML for now – included in the KMLs are the route – which thanks to my Kaiser’s GPS receiver, seem pretty accurate – and also pushpins for the distance and time intervals I set, which were 0.5km and every 90 seconds. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get more of the instantaneous speed information out by exporting to a more ‘purist’ GPS format, but for now, it’s quite cool being able to retrace the route we took the other day… and it was clear and sunny then, as well.

As for the stability – this has always been a problem, since running reliably for hours on end in the background isn’t something anyone who knows Windows Mobile would expect to happen. For this reason I saved and restarted the logging 3 times. And – two of the runs completed successfully. The middle route stopped half-way through, meaning I lost around 15 miles of the 60 in the middle of the route. Still – not as bad as you would expect. Turning off the Auto-Start/Auto-Stop settings on MyMotion seems to help as well.

  1. john
    July 31, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Why do you say 60 miles? It was listed as 55 (but when we finished the announcer at the line said 60 miles). Did your GPS confirm it as 60. My wife and I were expecting 50 so we’d be even prouder of finishing 60!

  2. damo
    July 31, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    One of our group with a bike computer logged it as 60. I can’t be sure myself, because MyMotion stopped logging for a couple of hours (as above), but the consensus definitely seems somewhere between 55-60 miles – certainly no less!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

