Home > Uncategorized > Netgear DG834PN is off-the-wall

Netgear DG834PN is off-the-wall

I woke up the other morning to find my DG834G v1 down, and flashing all it’s lights together at me (Netgear response: “Thank you for your contact. My name is Clueless, and I will be your CSA for this particular instant in time. Does not compute.“)

Since it’s at least 4 years old, has always had a few other problems (Does not reliably send its firewall events via Syslog without crashing, and can’t handle WPA-PSK or anything other than WEP without freezing within a day), I thought it was time to replace it. With what, though? My main criteria were:

  • Must have decent wireless
  • Must have ADSL modem built-in
  • Must look good
  • Must wall-mount

So I got the DG834PN.

Except… thanks to some gaps in my research, I found the DG834PN doesn’t wall mount after all. They’ve taken the mounting holes off. Bummer.

OK – so I’ve got that to solve… I will wall mount it, but it may involve some drilling or blu-tack. For that reason, I might see if any of the newer Netgear boxes offer more.
In the meantime, some quick stats. I just quickly tried copying a 705Mb file over wireless, from my IBM Thinkpad T60p with built-in (ie. non-RangeMAX) wireless, in the same room, 4m away – and ran each test twice. The average speeds were:

  • On DG834G using WEP-128 bit : 7 min 10 secs
  • On DG834PN using WPA-PSK:     4 min 50 secs

So… approx a 30% improvement.

So – I might keep it. We’ll see

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. demon1
    April 15, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    maybe try using sticky velcro to wall mount

  2. dskeeles
    April 15, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Yeah, but I already have the screws in the wall; it would be a shame not to use them, and also messier when removing. Velcro tends to remove paint/wallpaper a lot easier than actually detaching from the other half of the material.

    I have these sticky-backed mounting points that have cable tie loops in them; I can probably stick these to the router and hang them off the existing screws.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

