Home > Uncategorized > Hoda / eGalax EETI Touchscreen now working in Tablet Mode with Windows 7

Hoda / eGalax EETI Touchscreen now working in Tablet Mode with Windows 7

September 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Well, after going through my previous post, it turns out that the technique to get Tablet mode working DOES work, pretty much as the forum posting describes.

In short:

  1. Download the Tablet drivers for the touchscreen from this link.
  2. Uninstall your existing touchscreen driver software (ie. TouchKit), and go to Device Manager to ensure that the HID USB Device is removed from the Mouse list.
  3. Reboot, if required.
  4. If Windows tries to autodetect and re-install the HID USB Drivers, then uninstall them again by right-clicking the entry in Device Manager
  5. Run Setup.exe from the Tablet drivers that you downloaded, and follow the install instructions straight through.

And that’s it - the Tablet-related control panel options are now accessible, and a circular crosshair appears whereever you touch.

Now the bad news.

It’s not really worth the bother. For anyone who’s used an iPod Touch or iPhone, the Windows Touch gestures are laughable. Swiping your finger down on a web page, if you manage not to simply select text, basically sends a Page Down keypress to the browser - so it simply scrolls down a page, regardless of how you swiped. Compared to OSX, where the scrolling has momentum and speed, it’s a very poor substitute.

As for Media Centre; does it have swipes? Can you flip through albums. Well… No! Instead, tablet mode gives you touch buttons at the top and bottom to scroll through the options. Again, laughably backward for a not-yet-released OS.

  1. andrew
    October 22, 2009 at 11:40 pm

    Thank you, i was having trouble getting my Hoda to work with windows touch! And yeah i agree with you that the windows touch is somewhat primitive compared to other the other ways touch has been implemented but i still enjoy using it :)

  2. DimJim
    November 2, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Thanks for the info. I’m having an issue with an eGalax EETI screen and Windows 7.

    Unfortunately I believe that the setup.exe that you linked to (HIDUsbTouchDigitizer) is for only 32 bit operating systems. I am running a 64 bit copy of Windows 7 so it won’t get through the install process.

    Running DPInst.exe gives me an error message that this file is for 32 bit only and to contact the vendor for a 64 bit version. Is there one from eGalax?

    • damo
      November 2, 2009 at 12:22 pm

      I’ve checked – the link I gave there was for the Vista driver. I forget the exact sequence now, but there is also the Win7 installer on that website (go to the main site, and then browse for the download). The Win7 installer DOES have 32- and 64-bit versions in the directory. I haven’t tried the 64-bit though, and I’m not sure if the setup.exe will work for 64-bit, or whether you’ll have to try to install the drivers directly using the INF file.

  3. Ant
    November 23, 2009 at 6:39 am

    Hmm I believe the lack of momentum on scrolling is because of the fact that the screen you are using is resistive. If you had a capacitive screen (like the TX2), then a lot more gestures are available to you.

  4. mados123
    February 14, 2010 at 5:32 am

    Use the FireFox browser and the extension Grab & Drag for the swipe scrolling. Change the “hand” to invisible.

  5. Frank Sommer
    April 8, 2010 at 7:06 am

    Hm, in my case after installation of the driver, the touchpad appears as USB Touchscreen Controller(Universal) in the Mouse section. Although the ehome tools are installed and running, the windows control panel option for tablets does not exist,the touchpad works – but only as a pointing device. No further Windwos 7 touchpad extensions available.
    What is wrong, does it work as designed ?

    • damo
      April 8, 2010 at 12:56 pm

      I have to admit, I’ve gone back to Linux now, so I’m not sure and can’t test! See the other posts here for info and links. It is tricky and tough to get “full” support.

      • Frank Sommer
        April 8, 2010 at 2:20 pm

        Thanks for your feedback, so far I´m using the Win7 driver from eeti website. In your turorial you are using the Vista version on Windows 7. Is this your trick ?

  6. Frank Sommer
    April 13, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    Now, I´ve got it runing. But I have to use an older driver which I got from the Gigabyte website (release August 2009). With the latest Windows 7 drivers from EETI it is not possible to use the Windows 7 built-in tablet PC tools.

  7. Paolo
    December 16, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    Hi, I’m runing windows 7 and using and HID touch screen. It
    works perfectly but windows 7 doesn’t recognize the touch input, I
    have no TabletPC options. So I can’t instal windows tabletPC games.
    Frank, could you tell me wich is your driver version? I’ve been
    looking for the August 2009 release but I found nothing. Thank
    you!

  8. Alastair Blakey
    December 16, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    For my Gigabyte t1028x with Windows 7, I asked Gigabyte
    directly (link on their website). They supplied me with a beta of
    an HID compliant touchscreen driver, which I’ve just installed. I
    don’t really use gestures; I wanted it for handwriting input, aka
    ink input. As the box ships, this is terrible; it just doesn’t
    capture strokes. With the HID compliant driver, the inking is
    massively better. Almost usable, even, though it’s still not as
    quick as I’d like, and (obviously) still doesn’t have palm
    rejection. Still, it’s much, much better. Seems like the “HID
    compliant” bit is the magic phrase, because the other thing that
    happened is that the “Ink Annotations” magically appeared in Office
    2003. So now I can add handwritten annotations to any Office doc
    (Word, Excel, Ppt…) Anyone who wants the driver, suggest you also
    bother Gigabyte directly, so they see that customers do want
    handwriting input…

  9. luke
    June 18, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    help! i need this driver!

  10. Rob
    July 9, 2011 at 9:37 am

    Can anyone assit with a source of a programme to enablke my computer running windows 7 to allow use of my touch screen (egalax touch) which working perfectly ok on windows xphome?

  11. Scott19
    April 19, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    For Windows7 64bit try HIDeGalax TouchPanel_HID_X50V2 drivers at http://global.shuttle.com/products/productsDownload?productId=1379&osId=7
    I found them to work on a Dell Latitude 6420 XFR (W7 64bit) as the Dell supplied ones where non-hid compliant. Once I installed the TouchPanel_HID_X50V2 drivers they worked and pen and touch worked and the HIDeGalaxTouch tool worked to calibrate as well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

